top of page
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
Follow Us
No tags yet.
Search By Tags
Recent Posts
Featured Posts

Incorporating Yoga and Meditation in Domestic Violence Support Groups

I had no idea why I was training to become certified to teach Hatha Yoga seven years ago, I just thought, why not? But as always, my Higher Power already knew. My work with victims of domestic violence up until that point had been teaching women how to do that "inner work" necessary for her to feel whole and complete. Through the teachings of my Life Enhancement Course, which touched on practices i.e., yoga and meditation, I would have a yoga instructor come in and teach a class to the women at the battered women's shelter. Now, I can teach the basics of the practice myself.

Women that have been abused often suffer with low self-esteem and low self-worth. They have a distorted image of themsevles, especially their body. Yoga can help them to feel beautiful again while giving them physical and emotional strength. Additionally, there are many other health benefits to practicing yoga, all of which help toward her feeling whole again.

For this reason, yoga should be incorporated into domestic violence support groups and offered at battered women shelters.

The following links are articles worth reading on this topic:

http://www.jwi.org/page.aspx?pid=2696#sthash.SCuVBMEb.dpbs

http://www.justmeans.com/blogs/healing-from-domestic-abuse-with-yoga

women-doing-yoga-1024x682.jpg

S.O.D.A. - Survivors of Domestic Abuse  

bottom of page